Michigan Association of CPAs announces 2018 awards at annual dinner Oct. 3, 2018

by MICPA | Sep 26, 2018   ()

Media contact:
Kristen Bujold, Siren PR

Troy, Mich., Sept. 26, 2018 – The Michigan Association of Certified Public Accountants (MICPA) today announced the recipients of its 2018 annual awards, honoring individuals within the accounting profession that have exemplified excellence through dedication, leadership and service.

This year’s honorees will be awarded at a dinner on Oct. 3, 2018 at the Suburban Collection Showplace in Novi. The evening will kick-off with a reception at 5:00 p.m., with the dinner and awards presentation to follow at 6:00 p.m.

“We’re so fortunate to work alongside this group of dedicated professionals who share their time, passion and expertise,” said Peggy Dzierzawski, president and CEO of MICPA. “These individuals have shown outstanding commitment and leadership, both to the profession and our communities, and are a driving force behind engaging the next generation of CPAs.”

More than 60 CPAs will be honored this year, including:

  • Gov. Richard D. Snyder – Distinguished Achievement Award: From day one, as Michigan’s first elected CPA Governor, Rick Snyder demonstrated an unwavering focus in changing the trajectory of our state’s economy. He created multiple workgroups of MICPA members to help lead our state’s comeback through the development of programs, including the citizen-friendly Comprehensive Annual Financial Report initiative, Detroit Financial Advisory Board and more.
  • Lucinda K. Enderby, president at Great Lakes Accounting, PC – Public Service Award: Enderby has provided affordable audit services to nonprofits in her community. Through her involvement in the Houghton Rotary Club, she’s worked to combat health issues internationally through polio immunizations, clean drinking water projects, dental care and safe housing.
  • Earl J. Poleski, executive director of Michigan State Housing Development Authority (MSHDA) – Outstanding CPA in Government Impact Award: With his more than 35 years of experience as a Certified Public Accountant (CPA), Poleski’s transition to Executive Director of MSHDA has afforded him the opportunity to use his accounting expertise to ensure MSHDA continues to make wise investments that support its mission.
  • Representative Brandt Iden, Michigan’s 61st District, Kalamazoo County – Legislative Impact Award: Recognized for his role in the association’s legislative initiatives, Rep. Iden, as chair of the Regulatory Reform Committee, was instrumental in sponsoring House Bill 5236, which amends Article 7 of the Occupational Code. This bill removed barriers to practicing accounting, while maintaining the high standards of the CPA designation.
  • Roger Short, CPA for City of Detroit, Detroit Building Authority and accounting instructor at Wayne State University – Diversity and Inclusion Award: Devoted to furthering diversity and inclusion in the accounting profession, Short is also a leader in the community. He’s an active accounting instructor, and mentors and provides scholarships to minorities and non-traditional students through his involvement in the Austin Scholars Program. 

 Other notable award winners include:

  • Distinguished Service Award: Anthony P. Frabotta, national chairman and CEO at UHY Advisors, Farmington Hills, and Betsy W. Meter, managing partner and U.S. accounting change leader at KPMG LLP, Detroit.
  • Women to Watch – Experienced Leader Awards: Marianne M. Lilly, ShindelRock, Novi; Susan B. Perlin, Plante Moran, PLLC, Southfield; and Liz Ziesmer, Rehmann, Grand Rapids.
  • Women to Watch – Emerging Leader Awards: Tessa R. Keena, Hungerford Nichols CPAs + Advisors, Grand Rapids; Sheryl M. Madden, The Kresge Foundation, Troy; and Melissa Jo Smith, The Dow Chemical Company, Midland.
  • Emerging Leader Award: Alex J. Drost, vice president at Cascade Partners LLC, Southfield.
  • Chair’s Service Award: Leon C. LaBrecque, managing partner and CEO at LJPR Financial Advisors, Troy.
  • Special Recognition Award: Heather C. Paquette, San Francisco Bay Area risk assurance leader and former managing partner at KPMG LLP.
  • Accounting Teaching Excellence Award: Dr. John M. Carlson, assistant professor at Albion College.
  • Outstanding High School Teacher Award: Joanne M. Candela, accounting instructor, formerly of Lutheran High School Northwest, Rochester Hills.
  • Outstanding Student Member Award: Shavonte Ross, accounting student at Wayne State University.

For a complete list of winners please visit our website.


The Michigan Association of Certified Public Accountants is the leading statewide professional organization dedicated to promoting and enhancing the value of the CPA profession. Our more than 18,000 members work in business, education, government and public accounting. Established in 1901, MICPA members serve as trusted advisors for businesses and individuals while embracing the highest standards of professional and ethical performance. For more information, visit

# # #

Source: MICPA
Source: MICPA

News Archive