MICPA Announces 2020 Awards


Troy, Michigan, September 29, 2020  The Michigan Association of Certified Public Accountants announced the winners of its 2020 awards recognizing professionals for outstanding contributions within their communities and the accounting industry.  

In order to honor the winners while also staying committed to the safety of its members, the MICPA will be hosting this year’s event virtually. A special presentation to acknowledge the dedication and service of the winners is planned for Thursday, October 8, 2020.  

The recipients of this year’s awards include: 

Accounting Teaching Excellence Award – Anthony D. Kurek, CPA and full-time lecturer at Eastern Michigan University. This award recognizes educators that excel in teaching accounting and representing the CPA profession to students.  

By regularly assisting students with tracking academic programs, career options and job searches while also advancing the profession with promotional presentations to high school and college students, Kurek represents the best in accounting education. An MICPA member since 2002 and an educator at EMU since 2008, he is the current Treasurer of the Eastern Michigan University Federation of Teachers Lecturers Union and one of the most sought-after professors among students in the EMU College of Business.  

Emerging Leader Award – Matthew S. Kidd, CPA and partner at Blunden & Kidd Accounting & Consulting. This award recognizes new professionals committed to the accounting profession.  

As the chair of the MICPA Emerging Leaders Task Force, Kidd engaged young professionals through networking events that he planned and implemented while growing attendance and encouraging participation. Previously awarded the 2019 MICPA Chair’s Service Award, Kidd is a spokesperson for emerging talent within the organization, volunteering as a mentor and having represented young professionals as a panelist at an MICPA Board of Directors Meeting.  

Public Service Award – Deborah L. Habel, CPA, CGMA, PMP, CITP, Wayne State University Mike Ilitch School of Business. Recipients of the Public Service Award are CPAs with a demonstrated dedication to public service. They lift the contributions of CPAs within their community to the public and encourage CPAs to engage in public service activities.  

As the chair of the MICPA Educator Task Force, Habel strives to keep Wayne State student members connected with the organization, showing careful consideration when advising students on important decisions. For over 12 years, Habel has driven student volunteerism for Accounting Aid Society’s Volunteer Income Tax Assistance program through unmatched innovation and support. Her efforts with the program have resulted in returning more than $7 million to struggling families within the community.  

Diversity & Inclusion Award – Alan C. Young, CPA, CGMA, MST of Alan C. Young & Associates, P.C. This award recognizes those who represent the profession’s immense diversity and richness, and embrace the Association’s diverse culture in its leadership, professional staff, student recruitment initiatives and in the services provided to its constituents.  

An MICPA member since 1980, Young demonstrated his commitment to diversity and inclusion before it was embraced as a core focus of the profession at large. As the founder and CEO of Alan C. Young & Associates, P.C., his firm is one of the largest minority firms in Michigan, supporting a diverse clientele from non-profit organizations to media personalities, and employing more than 30 professionals. The firm was recognized by Corp! Magazine as Diversity Company of the Year in 2015 for its strong dedication to diversity of staffing and overall philosophy.  

Outstanding Visionary Award – William (Bill) Reeb, CPA, CGMA, CITP of Succession Institute and past chair of the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants (AICPA). This award is given to state and national leaders with outstanding leadership and vision.  

A good friend of the association, Reeb exemplifies this award with his unique vision and passion for accounting which he brought to his recent year as chair of the AICPA. He has traveled to Michigan several times to speak with MICPA staff, accounting students and senior leadership, sharing his vast wealth of experience and commitment to the evolution of the profession. 

Peggy A. Dzierzawski Distinguished Service Award – Robert M. Johnson, CPA, CGMA of Shift Digital. The recipient of the Peggy A. Dzierzawski Distinguished Service Award has contributed significantly to the advancement of the CPA profession.  

With his consistent, substantial contributions to the MICPA Board of Directors, Johnson has remained focused on the future, engaging emerging leaders and students as well as championing new social media, digital and video initiatives to communicate changes and demystify the profession. As chair of the MICPA, Rob was crucial in the launch of the MICPA Connect platform, uniting our diverse membership virtually across the state as never before. 

Distinguished Achievement Award – Douglas P. Roosa, CPA, CGMA and currently Director - Division Chief Internal Auditor for the State of Michigan. This award recognizes CPAs who demonstrate outstanding achievement, leadership and service in areas such as commerce or industry, governmental or public service, education and civic or social endeavors.  

An active volunteer leader of the MICPA for over a decade and a half, Roosa continues to be devoted to helping drive a dynamic accounting profession worldwide and supporting the success of accounting professionals working in all aspects of business. Roosa has more than 38 years of international financial executive experience with several multinational publicly traded companies and began his career at PricewaterhouseCoopers where he was an audit partner. He joined the public sector 3 years ago and in his current role, works with State leadership driving enterprise risk and internal control management while leading other select statewide operational initiatives. He remains a passionate and committed leader of the association as a past chair of the board and member of the President’s Advisory Council. As a current board member and chair of the Audit and Finance Committee of the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants and its founding bodies the American Institute of CPAs and Chartered Institute of Management Accountants with over 650,00 members worldwide, Roosa has extended his leadership to the global level of the profession.  

For a complete list of winners, please visit our website.  

About the MICPA 

The Michigan Association of Certified Public Accountants is the leading statewide professional organization dedicated to promoting and enhancing the value of the CPA profession. Our more than 19,000 members work in business, education, government and public accounting. Established in 1901, MICPA members serve as trusted advisors for businesses and individuals while embracing the highest standards of professional and ethical performance. For more information, visit

 Full Article

Source: MICPA

 Back to List